Sans titre (2).png

Lina*

"The Church must be poor again and go back to its roots"

What is your image of the Church?

I see the Church as a social institution that operates everywhere and does everything. It is somewhat distant from the spiritual role it should play. I do not see it undertaking a spiritual mission, but rather an incomplete social one. Today, to fully do a job, I must balance all its sides equally. Today, the Church is a salad bowl, doing this and that and so on and so forth. The role of the priest should be more spiritual, focused on preaching, but now I see him involved in public life and worldly matters more than his role as a preacher and spiritual guide. At the moment, the priest focuses on everything except his spiritual mission. The Church no longer gives me spiritual answers, and it does not help me grow spiritually. You are speaking with someone who was active in the Youth and the Synod in the 90s, but at the age of 30 I started moving away from the Church.

 

Nowadays, the Church is aristocratic and classist. The pastor only cares for the rich sheep, leaving behind the 99 lost ones. I spoke with many Christians who told me that they are embarrassed to go to pray in church because of their simple and modest clothes, and thus a majority of the poor feel that they do not belong to this place, because they see that the first places are reserved for the important people, while the least important sit in the back. 

Homilies also affect people’s morale. One time during Holy Mass, one of the priest said in his homily that the rich have money because they work hard, while the poor remain poor because they are lazy. We also must change the notion that giving and charity is not a quality reserved or only exists in the rich, because this enforces classism.

The priest should focus on his spiritual apostolic mission and improving his preaching. What we see today is a priest reprimanding and scolding people, in the same manner that Jesus was doing when he cast out the money changers from the temple. You are not Jesus. Priests should not tell people that they are beggars, because it was priests who taught them to beg. People are mostly involved in the Church because they want to benefit from it. I will give an example, in the past most people were affiliated with the Greek Orthodox Church, but that started to change when the Catholic Church and the Franciscans wanted to attract people to their side, so they started offering, for free, a special kind of bread called (Tulmeh). 

 

The Church is also aristocratic because it doesn’t distribute opportunities equally. Why does the Church today provide scholarships for the children of the rich who can afford to educate their children? Aren't these scholarships for everyone? Why do they do this? Because the Church, as I said, is aristocratic and is not concerned with developing all people and giving them equal opportunities.

 

I also see colonial notions in the Church through the purchase of real estate and land, seeking power, authority and money. Therefore, they form an entity and presence in this region and do not care about the poor, as they use them only to collect money. The Church and priests are rallying people through the matter and not the spirit.

 

Do you think the Church is distant from some people?

 

Yes. The priest today no longer takes the Communion for the sick! Why? Instead we have lay people called acolytes who do that? Is it enough for the sick and elderly to receive the Eucharist? no, the sick and elderly need someone to listen and talk to them about their fears, hope, their days.... They need to talk to a person who is said to represent Jesus on earth. Also, I think that one must take the body and blood of Christ from the hand of a priest and not from a person whom I know is not good in his daily life. Today, the priest steps down from his priestly role to take on other worldly roles.

 

Do you think that the Church encourages people to form bad habits?

 

When the Church is involved in social work, there is a tax that must be paid. When a social office is opened within the Church, people will tend to go and ask for help. There is a financial and commercial aspect to this matter. When this is present, not everyone will be satisfied and happy. The following question must be asked: Is it correct for me to take on this direction as a Church when there are other Christian social service institutions created for this purpose? Why does the Church not focus on its spiritual and religious role and leave this area to social service institutions? Why should a priest be a priest, a social worker, a businessman, a spiritual guide and a politician? A person should not go to Church to ask for aid, food, money...etc. A person has to go to find a place where he can address God through the priest. The Church has historically taught people to beg. In the past, this was done individually, but today it is organized and systematic.

 

The solution? There are frameworks and social service offices through which the priest can work. Here the priest took a role that was not for him and naturally he would be busy. If priests wish to help people, they should be close to them and listen to their concerns. The priest is not close to these people by establishing a social service office, but by being a good example for them.

 

How can the Church evolve?

 

The Church must be poor again and go back to its roots, its beginning, and the reason for which it started. The Church today is growing in size, but everything that grows will collapse because it has forgotten its roots. The answer is to go back to the roots, which is poverty, so you will be spiritually rich, and people will gather more around it because no matter how much possessions a person accumulates, he will remain poor, always looking for things that engage his soul, and they will not find that in material things. Today, the Church cares more about politics than spiritual matters. The priest talks about political matters more than spiritual ones. Even in politics, I wish they would stand by the word of truth, instead of using flattery and seeking to please.

 

The Pope is an intelligent man and I greatly respect his humane stances. All the reforms he undertook and still does are due to the fact that the Catholic Church has begun to lose part of its power and leverage. When he was elected, he began looking for new ways to attract and rally people. The Church today is looking for sovereignty. The Church faces many problems. Recently I heard about a priest in the Holy Land who used to sexually harass women, choosing  his victims in a smart way. People cannot slander him because his victims are drug users, divorced, and poor women, it is his strong word against theirs. Twenty years later, we discover what happened, just like what happened with Thomas Philippe and Jean Vanier, as their victims started to disclose what happened to them. The same thing will happen here.

 

Why does this evil exist? Because a person cannot serve two masters, either I serve the mammon or serve God. And when I choose God I choose poverty because God is in the poor. If a priest is not capable of  making a vow of chastity, why does he become a priest? Because he is hungry for power and at the same time thinks that through power he can do many things without questioning. If a priest sexually harasses a young girl somewhere, from where does he derive this power? Doesn't that derive from his authority? Look at the victims of this priest, who are weak and unable to defend themselves.We all heard about the scandals of priests who sexually abused children in the US, and the missionaries that go to Africa under the pretext of preaching the Word of God while exploiting children, does the church not know about them? Yes, the Church knows very well what they are doing. Today there are movements that support pedophilia. After how many years will this become acceptable because there are religious frameworks involved in it? under the pretext that the world evolves, the Church must also evolve. We have to evolve, but how? And in what contexts?

 

What about debate and discussion? Does everyone have an open space to do this? When I discuss with some priests or nuns a subject that they deemed out of my concern, I am accused of atheism. Why? I am not a sheep, I am a person with an opinion and I have the right to express my opinion and you have no right to restrict me because of it. The Church of today wants everyone to speak its language, they want one narrative. That is not right. Accordingly, a lot of young people will not continue their path with the Church because they cannot follow one discourse. Today most people shake their heads and agree to what the church requires of them because they have an interest. If this interest disappears, they will not go to Church again, but they will go to other Churches that meet these interests.

Interview by Saher Kawas

The opinions and ideas expressed in this interview only reflect those of the interviewee.
According to the preparatory document for the 2023 Synod, the Synodal Journey aims to give people “the opportunity to express themselves, to be heard in order to contribute to the building of the people of God.” 
If you would like to contribute to the Synodal Journey and express your views and ideas, please contact us via mediasynodhl@gmail.com:

Bio express

Lina is not her real name, she wanted to remain anonymous

 Age: 51

Job: Social Worker

City: Bethlehem

Denomination: Roman Catholic

Sans titre (2).png

لينا

"الكنيسة يحب أن تصير فقيرة من جديد وتعيد ارتباطها مع جذورها"

ما هي صورة الكنيسة في نظرك؟

أرى الكنيسة مؤسسة اجتماعية تعمل في كل مكان وتعمل كل شيء. فهي نوعًا ما بعيدة عن دورها الروحي الذي يجب أن تقوم به. لا أراها تحمل رسالة روحية، بل هي هيئة اجتماعية وغير مكتملة. اليوم، لتقوم بعمل ما بصورة كاملة، يجب أن توازي بين جميع أوجه العمل. الكنيسة اليوم نوع من صحن سلطة، تعمل هذا وذاك، وهكذا تسير. دور الكاهن يجب أن يكون أكثر روحية، مركَّزًا على الوعظ، لكن الآن أراه مندمجًا في الحياة العامة، وشؤون الدنيا تهمه أكثر من دوره كواعظ ومرشد روحي. الآن الكاهن يركز على كل شيء ما عدا رسالته الروحية. الكنيسة لم تعد تعطيني الأجوبة الروحية ولا تساعدني أن أنمو روحيذًا. أنت تتكلم مع شخص كان نشيطًا في الشبيبة والسينودس في التسعينات. ولكن منذ بلغت سن الثلاثين بدأت أبتعد عن الكنيسة.

اليوم الكنيسة أرسطوقراطية وتشكل نوعًا من الطبقة، حيث الراعي يهتم فقط للخراف الغنية، تاركًا خلفه التسعة والتسعين المفقودين. تكلمت مع عدد من المسيحيين قالوا لي إنهم يشعرون بأنهم محرجون عند الذهاب إلى الكنيسة، بسب ثيابهم الفقيرة والمتواضعة، وهكذا غالبية الفقراء لا ينتمون إلى هذا المكان/ الكنيسة، لأنهم يرون أن الأماكن الأولى محفوظة للشخصيات المهمة، وغير المهمين يجلسون في الخلف.

والعظات أيضًا تؤثر في سلوكيات الناس. قال أحد الكهنة مرة في عظته، في أثناء القداس، إن الأغنياء عندهم الأموال لأن الغني يعمل بجد، بينما الفقراء يظلون فقراء لأنهم كسالى.  يجب أيضًا أن نغير مفهوم العطاء والمحبة، فهما ليسا من صفات الغني، ولا هما موجودان فقط عند الغني: هذا المفهوم يزيد الطبقية.

يجب أن يركز الكاهن على رسالته الروحية ويحسِّن طريقته في الوعظ. ما نراه اليوم هو كاهن يوبخ الشعب، مثل يسوع لما طرد الصيارفة من الهيكل. وأنت لست يسوع. لا يجوز للكاهن أن يقول للناس إنهم "شحادين"، وذلك لأن الكهنة علَّموهم "الشحدة". الكهنة مهتمون كثيرًا بالمال، لأنهم يريدون أن يحققوا مكاسب لهم. أعطي مثلا: كثيرون كانوا في كنيسة الروم الأرثوذكس، عندما أرادت الكنيسة الكاثوليكية والفرنسسكان أن يجذبوا الناس إليهم، صاروا يوزعون نوعًا من الخبز مجانا كان يسمى "الطلامي".

"الكنيسة والكهنة يجمعون الناس حولهم بالمادة وليس بالروح"

 

والكنيسة أيضا أرسطوقراطية لأنها لا تقدم الفرص بصورة متساوية.  لماذا تقدم الكنيسة اليوم البعثات لأبناء الأغنياء الذين يقدرون أن يعلموا أبناءهم؟ أليست هذه البعثات لكل الناس؟ لماذا يعملون هذا؟ لأن الكنيسة كما قلت أرسطوقراطية ولا يهمها تنمية كل الشعب وإعطاء فرص للجميع.

أرى أيضًا مفاهيم استعمارية في الكنيسة من خلال شراء العقارات والأراضي بحثا عن السلطة، والقوة والمال. فهي تصنع  كيانًا وحضورًا في هذه المنطقة ولا تهتم للفقير، بل تجمع المال لتجمع المال. الكنيسة والكهنة يجمعون الناس حولهم بالمادة وليس بالروح.

 

هل تظن أن الكنيسة بعيدة عن بعض الناس؟

نعم. اليوم الكاهن لم يعد يحمل المناولة إلى المرضى. لماذا؟ بدل ذلك، عندنا "خدام هيكل" يعملون ذلك ( acolytes ). هل يكفي للمرضىى والمسنين أن يقبلوا الإفخارستيا؟ كلا، المرضى والمسنون يحتاجون إلى شخص يصغي إليهم ويكلمهم حول مخاوفهم، وأملهم وأيامهم. ... يحتاجون أن يكلموا مع شخص المفروض أنه يمثل يسوع على الأرض. لهذا أظن أن المرضى يجب أن يأخذوا المناولة من يد الكاهن، وليس من يد شخص أعرف أنه غير جيد في حياته. اليوم الكاهن يتنازل عن دوره ككاهن ليتخذ أدوارًا دنيويّة أخرى.

 

هل تفكر أن الكنيسة تشجع الناس على اتخاذ عادات سيئة؟

عندما تتدخل الكنيسة في أعمال اجتماعية هناك ضريبة يجب أن تدفعها. عندما تفتح مكتبًا اجتماعيًّا في الكنيسة، يتعود الشعب أن يذهب ويطلب المساعدة. للقضية وجه مالي ومادي. وعندما يكون ذلك، ليس الجميع راضيًا. يجب أن يُطرَح السؤال التالي: هل من الصواب أن تسير الكنيسة في هذا الاتجاه، عندما توجد مؤسسات كنسية أخرى اجتماعية لهذا الغرض؟ لماذا لا تركز الكنيسة على دورها الروحي والديني وتترك هذا المجال لمؤسسات عمل اجتماعية؟ لماذا يجب أن يكون الكاهن كاهنًا وعاملا اجتماعيًّا وصاحب أعمال ومرشدا روحيًّا ورجل سياسة؟ يجب ألا يذهب الشخص إلى الكنيسة لطلب المساعدة أو الطعام أو المال...يذهب الإنسان هناك ليجد مكانا حيث يمكنه أن يخاطب الله من خلال الكاهن. الكنيسة في تاريخها علَّمت الناس "الشحدة". في الماضي، كان هذا العمل يتم مع الأفراد، اليوم هو عمل منظم ومؤسس.

الحل؟ هناك إطارات ومكاتب عمل اجتماعي من خلالها يقدر الكاهن أن يعمل. هنا اتخذ الكاهن دورا لم يكن له وبالطبيعة أصبح مشعولًا. إن أراد الكهنة أن يساعدوا الشعب يجب أن يكونوا قريبين منهم والإصغاء إلى همومهم. ليس الكاهن قريبا لهؤلاء الأشخاص بتأسيس مكتب خدمة اجتماعية، بل بأن يكون مثلا صالحًا لهم.

كيف يمكن للكنيسة أن تتطور؟

يجب للكنيسة أن تعود وتكون فقيرة، يجب أن تعود إلى جذورها، إلى مبادئها، وإلى الأسباب التي من أجلها بدأت. الكنيسة اليوم آخذة بالنمو في حجمها، لكن كل شيء يكبر ينهار لأنه نسي جذوره. الجواب هو العودة إلى الجذور، التي هي الفقر، وهكذا تصبح غنيًّا بالروح. وسيجمع الناس حولها أكثر، لأنه مهما كانت الممتلكات التي يجمعها الإنسان، سوف يبقى فقيرًا، يطلب دائمًا امورًا تشغل روحه، ولن يجد ذلك في أمور مادية. الكنيسة اليوم تهتم للسياسة أكثر من اهتمامها للأمور الروحية. يتكلم الكاهن عن أمور سياسية أكثر من الأمور الروحية. حتى في السياسة، أود لو وقفوا عند كلمة الحق، بدل اللجوء إلى التملق والاسترضاء.

"الكنيسة اليوم تريد أن يتكلم الجميع اليوم بلغتها، يريدون رواية واحدة. هذا ليس صوابًا"

البابا رجل عاقل وأحترم عاليًا مواقفه الإنسانية.  كل الإصلاحات التي قام بها سببها أن الكنيسة الكاثولكية بدأت تفقد شيئًا من قدرتها وتاثيرها. لما انتخب، بدأ يبحث عن طرق جديدة لجذب الناس وجمعهم حوله. الكنيسة اليوم تبحث عن السيادة. الكنيسة تواجه مشاكل كثيرة. سمعت مؤخرا عن كاهن في الأرض المقدسة اعتاد أن يضايق جنسيا النساء، كان يختار ضحاياه بطريقة ذكية. والناس لا يقدرون أن يشتكوا عليه لأن ضحاياه من المدمنين على المخدرات، أو مطلقات، أو فقيرات. هذا دفاعه ضدهن.  بعد عشرين سنة اكتشفنا ماذا حدث، مثل ما حدث مع توماس فيليب وجان فانيي عندما بدأت ضحاياهم تكشف عما حدث لهم. الأمر نفسه سيحدث هنا.

لماذا يوجد هذا الشر؟ لأن الإنسان لا يقدر أن يخدم سيدين، إما يخدم المال وإما يخدم الله. وعندما أختار الله أختار الفقر لأن الله في الفقراء. وإن لم يكن الكاهن قادرا على الالتزام بنذر العفة لماذا يصير كاهنا؟ لأنه جائع للسلطة وفي الوقت نفسه يظن أنه من خلال السلطة سيعمل أشياء كثيرة من غير محاسبة. إن ضايق كاهن فتاة شابة في أي مكان كان، من أين تأتيه هذه القدرة؟ أليس ذلك من سلطته؟ تنظر إلى ضحايا هذا الكاهن، فهي ضعيفة ولا تقدر أن تدافع عنى نفسها.  كلنا سمعنا عن شكوك كهنة اعتدوا على أطفال جنسيا في أمريكا.  وعن مرسلين يذهبون إلى أفريقيا بحجة التبشير بكلمة الله بينما يعتدون على الأولاد، ألا تعلم الكنيسة عنهم؟  نعم، الكنيسة نعرف جيدا ما يعملون. اليوم هناك حركات تساند البيدوفيليا. وبعد كم سنة سيصير هذا الأمر مقبولا؟ لأن أُطُرًا دينية متورطة فيه، بحجة أن العالم يتطور، الكنيسة أيضا تتطور. ويجب أن نتطور. ولكن كيف؟ وفي أية سياقات.

 

ماذا عن النقاش والجدال؟ هل يتاح لكل واحد أن يناقش ويجادل؟ عندما أناقش مع بعض الكهنة أو الراهبات في أمور يعتبرونها ليست من اختصاصي، يتهمونني بالإلحاد. لماذا؟  أنا لست خروفا، أنا إنسان ولي رأيي، ولي الحق أن أعبر عن رأيي ولا حق لك أنى تضع لي حدودًا. الكنيسة اليوم تريد أن يتكلم الجميع اليوم بلغتها، يريدون رواية واحدة. هذا ليس صوابًا. ولهذا، العديد من الشباب لن يتابعوا طريقهم مع الكنيسة لأنهم لا يقدرون أن يقبلوا "بالخطاب الواحد". كثيرون اليوم يهزون رؤوسهم ويوافقون على ما تطلب منهم الكنيسة لأن لهم مصلحة. إن غابت المصلحة لن يعودوا إلى الكنيسة ثانية. بل يذهبون إلى كنماس أخرى تلبي مصالحهم.

مقابلة مع ساهر قواص

 

إن الآراء والأفكار الواردة في هذه المقابلة تعكس رؤى الشخص الذي تمت مقابلته فحسب.
وفقًا للوثيقة التحضيرية لسينودس ٢٠٢٣، تهدف الرحلة السينودسية إلى منح الناس "الفرصة للتعبير عن أنفسهم، والاستماع إليهم من أجل المساهمة في بناء شعب الله". 
mediasynodhl@gmail.com :إن كنت ترغب في المساهمة في الرحلة السينودسية والتعبير عن آرائك وأفكارك، يرجى الاتصال بنا عبر

السيرة

لينا (اسم مستعار، أرادت أن تبقى مجهولة)

عمرها: ٥١ سنة

عملها: عاملة اجتماعية 

مكان: بيت لحم

طائفة: رعية اللاتين.